One Week in the Life Of: Day One (January 6, 2014)

For the next week I will be working on a project that is inspired by a Facebook challenge that a friend did. The goal is to post about what you did each day for a week, and since I’m not one to post every little detail about my life on Facebook, I thought I do the project here.

So, without further ado…

Day One: Tuesday, January 6, 2014:

I started out the (very cold) day early. I’m currently applying for a fellowship that would allow me to study in Poland for six months next year, and once or twice a week I go in to talk to the women who helps fellowship and scholarship applicants at my university. It’s stressful, and there are times where I get nervous about what I will have to do if I get the fellowship that I talk myself into not wanting it. Which is ridiculous of me to do, to say the least, but I work myself up over doing things that end up being minute in the end.

Since I had already ventured out into the cold for my meeting I decided to spend some time reading at what is quickly becoming my favorite cafe in Eau Claire.

Finishing up The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck at Racy's. This place has the best ambiance and some of the best coffee in town.
Finishing up The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck at Racy’s. This place has the best ambiance and some of the best coffee in town.

I managed to finish one of the best books that I have read in a long time: Jenny Erpenbeck’s The End of Days, which is five different “books” describing the five different deaths of one woman.

The Pioneer Block of Water Street, where Racy's is located.
The Pioneer Block of Water Street, where Racy’s is located.

I then ate lunch and ran a few errands that I had to take care of. Overall it was a pretty sleepy day, and I have to admit that it feels a little odd not to have school work or grading or the multitude of other things that I’ve spent my semesters, summers and winter terms doing. But a vacation is good, don’t you think?

To get to Racy's you have to go to the back of the building. Of course, the side of the Pioneer Block really isn't that interesting, but I think it may show up in a story some time.
To get to Racy’s you have to go to the back of the building. Of course, the side of the Pioneer Block really isn’t that interesting, but I think it may show up in a story some time.
Leave a Reply

